Chocolate macarons

Macarons are pretty. Chocolates are heavenly. And when their powers combine, they are pretty heavenly.

All good stuff must wait. This good stuff has really tested my patience. I’ve tried about 5 batches per attempt, 2 attempts in total.  First attempt was horrid. Whisking the eye-whites by hand is probably impossible in order to achieve the stiff peaks required (although impossible has always been floating out of my dictionary). My chocolate macarons were so not macaron-looking, although i tried to take comfort in the somewhat feet that appeared.

I bought myself a kitchen aid (not the lovely colourful ones of course.. i wish!). My mummy doesn’t bake so there has always been a lack of this tool. This was after going through many pages on so many things that could possibly go wrong in the making of macarons. But the obvious bug haunting me during the process was the egg whites didn’t seem right (I could have done a little read up on the definition of stiff peaks but I didn’t =P).

And armed with my new Phillips electronic appliance, the following was borned (4th batch).

It had smooth top and feet! I was excited and kept checking on them to see if the top cracked. Like how the second and third batches did (the first was burnt).

A on-the-spot research noted a writer’s emphasis on dry, dry, dry ingredients for macarons and how a humid, rainy day in their temperate climate will affect the outcome. I was then prompted to dry my batter after piping given Singapore’s humidity of over 70% and so I did 40mins for the 4th batch, which resulted in the product above. The 5th batch was dried for a longer period of time, but I placed it in the oven for about 15mins, a few minutes longer than the above. The macarons were more of a big-mac shape for the 5th batch unlike that of a cheeseburger for the 4th but the tops were cracked.

Moisture, they say. David Lebovitz recipe didn’t introduce aged-egg whites but I think I will do that the next time. Together with airing my processed almond meal. I guess nothing is absolute huh.

I’m inspired. Strawberry macarons as valentine’s gifts?

Leave a Reply

