Lemon roulade

So I’m retyping this because I don’t know where my entry into quickpress went to. I tried making lemon roulade because the bf wants a cream-filled roll and I thought lemon curd seems to suffice (not really cream but heavy cream isn’t a food conveniently available at the supermarket opposite). Anyhow, the roll today was made using recipe at http://www.joyofbaking.com/SpongeCakeorBiscuit.html for the sponge cake and http://www.joyofbaking.com/LemonCurd.html for the lemon curd. This recipe is more tedious than the one I’ve tried for the strawberry roll. The egg whites are beaten separately and an additional yolk used but the roll is definitely fluffier and softer. I like!

I’m still using my 8″ x 10″ tray, which doesn’t make a roll long enough to rollover as many times as the standard recipes. I’ve split up the batter for two batches. The first much thinner because I’ve spread my batter too thin because of my experience from the last. The last attempt at strawberry roll resulted in a uber fluffed and thick roll when I poured all the batter meant for a 10″ x 15″ tray into my 8″ x 10″ tray which of course would not turn out perfect. The batter also spilled over my pan, into the oven. Eeks what a mess. So I’ve learnt my lesson and overflow no more!

And the thinner roll, which looks rather flat when it’s rolled.

I used 100g sugar for lemon curd instead of 150g which the recipe called for but it was still of an apt texture (maybe because I slow-cooked it for a longer time) which is fine with me in any case. So this will be breakfast for the next two days!

Leave a Reply

