Yuba

This soy product is the local specialty of Nikko, as recommended by lonely planet, one that I’ve never tried till I was in the country. At its best, it has a soft and light texture, with a fresh soy taste that spells heaven when prepared with a bowl of udon in hot clear soup. Best I’ve tasted was at a Japanese shop with an attached bakery and gift shop, in front of the bus-stop at Shinkyo Bridge (in the direction of Yumoto). One average yuba ramen I’ve tried near the Kegon falls has a strong soy taste with the yuba not having enough curd texture.  I would love to try it again and I wonder if it taste any different when it’s not winter when I constantly crave for a piping hot dish.

Leave a Reply

