Coffee Angel Food Cake

It’s never a good idea to replace ingredients in the recipe.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/gale-gand/coffee-angel-food-cake-recipe/index.html

Which I did once again. My coffee angel food cake was so not light and airy at all. It was heavy, moist and sticky. I replaced cream of tartar with lemon juice and used coarse grain sugar instead of fine grain sugar. Replaced cake flour with the proportions mentioned on joyofbaking.com.  Sounds like the recipe for a disaster eh? Anyway, after half hour, the top was black and insides weren’t anywhere near closed to being cooked. Anyhow, I shall try it again for the batter with the coffee smell was simply alluring. I just need to get that same fragrance in an edible cake to enjoy it with my afternoon coffee drink. I want!

Leave a Reply

