Lemon meringue pie

I had leftover egg whites and was deciding between macarons (again!) or something new. Well, once bitten twice shy.. I’m still not ready to attempt the macarons so I gave in to a simple Lemon Meringue Pie – made for snacking during the mahjong session. Recipe from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/grandmas-lemon-meringue-pie/detail.aspx with many great reviews.

I made 2/3 of the recipe. All but the meringue which was 3/3 of the recipe. Well, I had a really tall meringue pie for my puny oven. The top browned and the middle of the meringue seems a little too soft. (But isn’t it suppose to be that way anyhows?) Popped it back into the oven a few times but didn’t seem to help with cooking the meringue inside so i shaved off the whole top to cook the insides. (Never be so greedy again!) Sad to see my nicely shaped meringue top get chopped off, not that anyone can refute that because I didn’t take any picture hahaha.

I did tweak the recipe – less sugar as always, and this was a little sour. I think I shall follow this recipe religiously the next time, since it was rated to be perfect in terms of sweetness and sour, very balanced.

Leave a Reply

